Tax Deed Sale
Tax deed sales are properties offered for sale to the highest bidder in order to satisfy delinquent property taxes. The Clerk's Office conducts the sale or public auction in accordance with Florida Statutes. Please refer to Florida Statutes, Chapter 197 for a complete understanding of Tax Deeds.
Tax Deed Sale Process
Property owners are required to pay property taxes on an annual basis to the County Tax Collector. If the owner fails to pay his/her taxes, a tax certificate will be sold by the Tax Collector at a date and time advertised by the Tax Collector.
A tax certificate represents a lien for unpaid real estate taxes. The amount of the certificate is the sum of the unpaid real estate tax and the non-ad valorem assessments, penalties, advertising costs and fees.
A tax certificate must be held for a minimum of two (2) years but not more than seven (7) years. At any time between the second and seventh year, the certificate holder may request the sale of the property to satisfy the certificate. The certificate holder must apply for the tax deed sale by presenting the original certificate to the Tax Collector. For more information about tax certificates, you should contact the County Tax Collector’s office.
The Tax Collector certifies the tax deed application and forwards the application to the Clerk. The Clerk’s fee is $60.00 for each application. Additional cost for advertising, sheriff’s service fees, and certified mail fees must also be paid before the sale date is set.
Once all sale costs have been paid, the Clerk sets a sale date, notifies the certificate holder, the property owner, and all lien holders, and the sale is then held in accordance with Florida Statute 197.
Notices of pending tax deed sales are published in a newspaper with local circulation. Tax deed files are available on the Clerk's website.
You must do your own research for each property!
Note: Current year taxes may not be included in the base bid. It is recommended that you contact the Charlotte County Tax Collector for complete cost associated with a Tax Deed Property.
You may research property improvements with the County Property Appraiser’s office.
Anyone may bid on a property however they must register on this web site and place a deposit prior to the sale. The site provides information for each pending sale, including with the name of owner, legal description and the opening bid as well as providing several external links to additional information for your research. The Clerk and RealAuction are not responsible for the quality or accuracy of any information provided on this site.
Prior to the start of the sale, each participant wishing to place a successful bid on a property must post with the Clerk a deposit. The deposit amount for each winning bid is the greater of $200 or 5% of the winning bid, and will be taken automatically from the bidder’s auction account. Deposits may be made in the form of electronic check (ACH) payment wizard,, cash, cashier’s check, money order or personal checks drawn on a local bank. Certain restrictions may apply, please check with the Clerk’s office for all rules regarding deposits.
At the date and time specified for the sale, each item is auctioned in order of file number. The property is sold to the highest qualified bidder.
Once a sale has been completed, the successful high bidder must remit $200.00 or 5% of the winning bid to the Clerk. The remainder of the bid is due within 24 hours including high bid amount, doc stamps and recording fees. Payment may be made in the form specified by the Clerk.
Upon payment of the remainder of the bid, the Clerk will issue a tax deed to the property. The sale is final when the tax deed is signed and recorded by the Clerk. The property owner may redeem his/her property by paying all back taxes and costs up until the Clerk of Court signs and records the tax deed.
If the certificate holder is not the successful bidder, he/she is reimbursed all monies paid, plus interest earned from the monies received from the successful bidder. Valid liens are then paid out of the monies received. Notarized claims must be submitted to the Clerk’s office to substantiate a claim. The former property owner may claim any excess funds.
The Clerk’s office is not authorized to give legal advice. If you require legal advice, you should obtain it from an attorney or some other source. The Clerk’s office assumes no responsibility for any encumbrances on any property offered for sale.
If you have additional questions concerning the procedure for tax deed sales, please refer to Florida Statutes Chapter 197 or contact the Clerk’s office.